Loading…
NREMT paramedic exam pass rates, retake limits, and CoAEMSP outcome thresholds for programs, with each figure tied to its primary source.

The NREMT paramedic exam: pass rates and retakes is a question with two audiences. Candidates who have failed the cognitive exam want to know how many attempts remain and how long they must wait before the next sitting. Paramedic program directors want to know whether their graduates are passing, because CoAEMSP accreditation measures credentialing exam success against a published threshold. This article sets out the current exam format, the national pass rate, the retest rules, and the program outcome thresholds, with each figure tied to the page it came from.
The paramedic cognitive exam is administered as a computer adaptive test. The NREMT handbook states that the examination will have between 110 and 150 questions, and that 20 of those questions do not affect the score. Because the test adapts to each candidate's responses, the length varies from one sitting to the next. The handbook gives a time allowance of 3.5 hours for the examination. Some third-party preparation sites list 2.5 hours instead. That figure does not match the NREMT handbook, so program staff should use the NREMT figure when briefing students.
The current paramedic examination began on July 1, 2024, with a fee of $175. The NREMT page for AEMT and Paramedic certification examinations gives the launch date and fee alongside the statement that the psychomotor examination is not required. Programs that still teach to an older blueprint should compare their materials with the NREMT Paramedic Test Plan, which the NREMT publishes as a separate document,.
The NREMT maps and data page reports a 2025 Annual Certification Report figure of 82% for the percent passing the paramedic certification examination, with 18,117 first-time certifications. The same page links a report on first-attempt pass rates by state, and this article does not report state-level figures. The 82% figure reports the share of candidates who passed the certification examination, and it is not a first-attempt rate, so the two should not be compared directly.
The NREMT handbook states that candidates may test up to six times and that they must wait 15 days from their last examination date before testing again. It also states that a candidate who fails three times must complete remedial education before the fourth attempt. The handbook lists three routes to meet that requirement: the 30-credit National Competency Component, a state or CAPCE-approved refresher course, or 30 credits from a state-approved program. The handbook does not say what happens after the sixth attempt, so that step has to be confirmed in the full Examination Retesting policy before any candidate is advised on it.
The NREMT page for AEMT and Paramedic certification examinations states that paramedic certification is one examination with no psychomotor examination required. It adds that a psychomotor examination is not required and will not be counted in the new testing process. Older course materials, state rules, and earlier program outcome reports may still refer to a practical step, so the NREMT page is the reference to check first. A state licensing agency can impose its own practical requirements, and this article does not attempt to summarize those.
CoAEMSP accredits paramedic programs under CAAHEP. Its annual reports page sets a 70% threshold for three outcomes: success on the NREMT or state written credentialing examination, retention, and positive (job) placement. The same page states that the CoAEMSP Board and Quality Improvement Committee are still reviewing whether these thresholds remain appropriate, so a program should confirm the current wording before it sets internal targets from them. The CAAHEP Standards and Guidelines in force for paramedic programs are the 2023 version, effective January 1, 2024.
| Item | Rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Cognitive exam length | 110 to 150 questions, 20 unscored | NREMT Paramedic handbook |
| Exam format | Computer adaptive test | NREMT Paramedic handbook |
| Time limit | 3.5 hours | NREMT Paramedic handbook |
| Current exam start | July 1, 2024; fee $175 | NREMT AEMT and Paramedic page |
| Psychomotor exam | Not required and not counted | NREMT AEMT and Paramedic page |
| Attempts | Six in total | NREMT Paramedic handbook |
| Waiting period | 15 days from last exam date | NREMT Paramedic handbook |
| After three failures | Remedial education before attempt four | NREMT Paramedic handbook |
| After six failures | Not stated in handbook | NREMT Examination Retesting policy |
| 2025 pass rate | 82%; 18,117 first-time certifications | NREMT maps and data |
| CoAEMSP credentialing exam threshold | 70%; under Board review | CoAEMSP annual reports |
| CoAEMSP retention threshold | 70%; under Board review | CoAEMSP annual reports |
| CoAEMSP positive placement threshold | 70%; under Board review | CoAEMSP annual reports |
| CAAHEP paramedic standards | 2023 version, effective January 1, 2024 | CoAEMSP standards page |
The NREMT handbook does not state the rule that applies after the sixth attempt, so a candidate who has used all six attempts should check the NREMT Examination Retesting policy for that step. The 70% thresholds are attributed to the CoAEMSP annual reports page, which describes them, and the CAAHEP standards page identifies the version of the standards that currently applies.
NGN Simulation Labs offers unscripted AI patient encounters inside an EHR-style chart, including spoken OSCE practice, adaptive study and quizzing with a placement check, faculty-facing competency analytics, and it runs alongside an existing LMS. Program staff who want to see where students lose ground before the cognitive exam can review the free licensure map at the licensure map or start a trial at the demo.
Everything we write about is built into products you can try today.